You Do the Maths

They go back, my commonplace books

to 1997.

And I’ve been keeping them assiduously,

some might say, obsessively, ever since,

4 or 5  a year. So that’s ……

Well, you do the maths.

What goes in?

Rough copies of poems I’m working on

but also poems I really like,

not just famous, well known poems

but poems posted on WordPress,

yes, poems, you, you and you have written.

I let you know when that occurs.

What determines entry?

Poems that fizz and buzz with energy,

not lazy poems, boring poems, safe poems

but poems that are a little transgressive, poems with edge,

that court oddball words, that experiment with language,

but cool poems, calm poems too

poems that are marked with the individuality of the writer.

Occasionally I cut ineffective lines, passages that don’t work,

It’s the editor in me. But they are stronger for it.

I don’t need to ask permission. They are for my eyes only.

They are poems I read over and over again for inspiration,

for warmth, for comfort – even when they bristle. .

And what have I discovered in all my writing and collating?

I do my best work in the cold.

55 thoughts on “You Do the Maths

      • In truth, I don’t have quite that many guitars, but I have a lot of guitars. I played flamenco guitar for years and had one high-quality flamenco guitar (I still have it). After two cancers and a stem cell transplant, I could not play guitar because of all the nerve damage from intensive chemo. Determined to play again, I bought an electric guitar and relearned to play. I play ok, but it’s still a struggle. In 2019, a friend gave me a guitar he started building to finish. That got me started building guitars. You end up with a lot of guitars experimenting with different builds and finishes, etc. Recently, I started collecting certain types of guitars. If you go to the Music tab on the top menu of my blog, you can listen to some of my music. I’m a terrible singer, but Teagan has sung some of my songs recently, and she has a great voice.

        Liked by 1 person

      • okay ; thanks for the background; you’ve been through a lot; I had chemo most of last year fotr a rare blood cancer, in remission now ; heAdingoff to gym and will check up the music when I get back home; thanks for the voice warning 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • funny thing, Dave, I was about to trash this post 5 minutes after posting — I thought I was ‘up myself’ — but then two comments came in one after the other so I left it up: glad I did 🙂

      Like

  1. What a wonderful idea to keep a common place book. And to be able to look back at all those years. The poems you’ve written, and all the poems from others you’ve kept. This is really inspiring. I wish I had done something like this.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. My friend, a writer, who encouraged my pursuit of writing, had a closet full of journals. When she passed, she requested that they be destroyed.

    I keep my scribbling in a digital archive.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment