What Were They Thinking, My Parents?

What Were They Thinking, My parents …… ?

What were they thinking, my parents,

when they took me,

a kid of ten,

to the drive-in back in ’55

to see ‘Rebel Without A Cause’?

Weren’t they aware

of its rating?

the furore it caused when released in the States?

the horrific ‘chicken run’ scene ?

You know the one

where two cars, one driven by Dean, the other by his rival,

race towards a cliff over looking the ocean

and whoever jumps out first is the chicken?

Dean jumps out just in time,

the other driver, his jacket sleeve caught in the door handle,

plummets to a fiery death onto the rocks below

his bulging eyeballs

filling the screen.

It was horrific, thrilling and a great moment in cinema.

But should I have been watching it?

39 thoughts on “What Were They Thinking, My Parents?

  1. Wow, John! That’s quite a scene for a 10 year old! I wouldn’t forget it, either! I love his you used this memory and photo for poetic ponder! You’re a gifted writer, my friend!😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve thought that about some of the things that my parents allowed or did, and my daughters and I have looked back at some of my choices when I was raising them. somehow we are all here to share, but some things just stick with us

    Liked by 1 person

  3. As you’ve carried this searing memory for so long, did you ever ask your parents about it?

    I remember my parents’ taking my sister and me to see Vincent Price in “The House of Wax” many years ago. In my recollection (which may or may not be true–too late to check), we were all so terrified that we spent the night huddled together.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t think I ever saw that film, John. That scene would have stuck with me too. Your poem describes it’s intense impact well. And I agree with Brian that what kids watch these days is much worse.

    I remember my parents taking me to a drive in and there were belly-dancers in the movie. My brothers and I were giggling in the back seat to the horror of my parents. They asked what was so funny, and we replied that the ladies’ pants were falling off. Lol. Kids.

    Great poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This isn’t quite the same thing, but my parents took my brother and me to see “Old Yeller” at a drive-on when we were munchkins. I was and still am a dog-lover. I cried for days.

    And let’s not discuss what the hunters did to Bambi’s mother.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.