Blue Pastures of the Sky

I worry about you like you worried about Chloe

the day I never brought her home from the vet;

Would she be happy in Heaven?

Would someone throw the ball for her?

Take her for long walks across the blue pastures

Of the sky?

But I can’t rescue you from adulthood.

All I can do is cheer you from the sidelines

like I used to do in Nationals

Wish you fangs and claws to fight off the trolls,

The sting of the scorpion

A heart as fierce as Balerion, the dragon

From Game of Thrones,

But peaceful and playful as Puff, that magic dragon

From Honalee.





  • pic by ilse orsel from Unsplash.com

30 thoughts on “Blue Pastures of the Sky

  1. Bittersweet, isn’t it? The cheering continues!!

    I love the thought of ‘the blue pastures of the sky’ – and, yes, that is a more apt title.

    Like

Comments are closed.