Slouch

I don’t like the way the branches slouch,

my grandfather would have said.

It shows a lack of moral fibre.

Grandfather did not approve of droop

though I think he could have cut the branches

some slack.

The best people slouch at times.

Oscar Wilde certainly did though he was no slouch.

And Tilda Swinton and Anne Hathaway were spotted

slouching at the Golden Globes.

I like the way Fridays slouch towards the weekend.
Poems should slouch a little too.

They should not appear cinched and pained

as if wearing a tight pair of underpants.

pic courtesy of Wikipedia

27 thoughts on “Slouch

  1. My grandfather said walk straight and tall. So I did. John, old grandpa told me. Walk with a sloth and you will have a back pain. I believe so. I still walk straight and tall, I feel my grandfather watching me from heaven.

    Like

Comments are closed.