My Keyboard is Monocultural

My keyboard is monocultural

has no linguistic spark

for nowhere does it recognize

the diacritical mark.





It’s positively Neanderthal

it waves its arms and shouts

but nowhere acknowledges

our dear friend, umlaut.





Yes, it’s almost prehistoric

a keyboard Godzilla

never heard of a circumflex

or even the cedilla.





And what about the breve, brachy,

the wedge and the hacek?

My keyboard shrugs its shoulders.

Ah, Just as I suspect.





My keyboard is being sent

to a re-education camp

so it comes back enlightened,

diacritically amped.

30 thoughts on “My Keyboard is Monocultural

    • it just feels a little peeved about having its inadequacies publicized; but look, I’ll have talk to it, about the bright new future it can look forward to; I’m sure it will change its attitudes —- I’ll tell it it’s a bit like going to a high tech summer camp 🙂

      Liked by 3 people

  1. Good for you…and I thought they said you couldn’t teach an old keyboard new tricks. I see they are wrong indeed. Let me know how the reeducation course goes, might send my ignorant keys next.

    Like

  2. Little Billy is a bit befuddled with some of the big words you used John. After watching other boys his mummy explained that he was circumcised. He understands this word. He’s wondering if circumflex has anything to do with it?

    He’s heard that you learn three new words each day. He’s going to put your befuddling words up on their Poet Don’s class New Word Board. I think you may have started something John. I hope all the words are suitable for little ears….we don’t want parents complaining

    http://donmatthewspoetry.com/2021/03/12/poet-don-and-class-celebrate-make-your-dreams-come-true-day-13-january/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A timely reminder of our path towards a cyborg existence. To be honest, I miss those old typewriters, there was still something human and imperfect about it and it slowed down my thinking. Well, no regrets for a dyslexic like me, those keyboards and what comes with them are a blessing.

    Like

Comments are closed.